Environmental Management System
Protected Species Surveys
Habitat Surveys
Habitat Creation and Management
Licensing and Mitigation
Expert Witness

Code for Sustainable Homes (CSH) assessments require an ecological report by a 'suitably qualified ecologist'. A 'suitably qualified ecologist' must hold a degree, have 3 years relevant recent experience in an ecological capacity, and be a member of a professional institute whose members are bound by a professional code of conduct and are subject to peer review, such as the Institute of Ecology and Environmental Management (IEEM).

Code for Sustainable Homes

Code for Sustainable Homes is the national standard for the sustainable design and construction of new homes. The Code aims to reduce our carbon emissions and create homes that are more sustainable. The Code measures the sustainability of a new home against nine categories:

  1. Energy and carbon dioxide
  2. Water
  3. Materials
  4. Surface water runoff
  5. Waste
  6. Pollution
  7. Health and well-being
  8. Management
  9. Ecology

A total of 9 credits are available in Category 9 (Ecology), representing 12% of the points contribution in total. The approximate weighted value of each ecological credit is 1.33, second only to that of Category 2 (Water) at 1.50. The aim of Category 9 is to:

• To promote development on land that already has a limited value to wildlife, and discourage the development of ecologically valuable sites.
• To enhance the ecological value of a site.
• To promote the protection of existing ecological features from substantial damage during the clearing of the site and the completion of construction works.
• To minimise reductions and promote an improvement in ecological value.
• To promote the most efficient use of a building’s footprint by ensuring that land and material use is optimised across the development.

Case Studies

EXP1 & Code for Sustainable Homes

January 2012
UES have recently been commissioned to complete Extended Phase 1 Habitat Surveys and Code for Sustainable Homes: Category 9 (Ecology) assessments for 7 sites in... more...